About Me

I was born in February 1969. Until I was about twelve years old my parents moved several times to different towns in Switzerland. We ended up in Olten, a small town in the center between Zurich, Bern, Basel, and Luzern. Ever since, I have been living there except for some short spells.

In spring 1994 after I had completed my studies in electrical engineering at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. I went to the UK for a year. I found a job as trainee System Manager, at De Montfort University in Leicester. When I came back to Switzerland, I worked for 11 years as a System Manager at ETH Zurich.

In the Summer of 1999 I had the unique opportunity to swap jobs with a guy from the US. I spent 3 months working for CAIDA in San Diego. It was wonderful time and I met great people. Then at the end of my stay in the US. Regula and I did some traveling and wrote a picture diary.

Since 1989 Regula and I have been a couple, so after 10 years we thought it might be safe to get married. In autumn 1999, right after we returned from the US we got married, totally ignoring all the disadvantages this was going to have regarding our tax bills.

In 2004 I started a two year training in Talent and Organizational Development (Personalentwicklung und Organisationsentwicklung). A very interesting set of topics where I gained a lot of personal as well as leadership insights. The fascinating thing about this training was that it was almost entirely based on the premises of discovery learning where our course group was organized as a company. These days I am also involved with 4A ACADEMY who are offering such training (Weiterbildung Organisationsentwicklung und Personalentwicklung (OE/PE)).

Since 2006 I am working with a few colleagues at OETIKER+PARTNER AG, spending my days figuring out new and clever ways to make our customers happy and successful.

You want to know more personal things hmm... OK, I'll tell you something really personal ... The worst thing for people living with me (eg. Regula my wife) is, that there are times (always?) when I come home from work, just to sit down in front of my Sunray and go back to work remotely.

But there is life apart from computers:

I like to take pictures as you can see on the photo page and I like going places and often write about it. I have recently started my second attempt at keeping a Blog.

I like to consume art in form of music, books and movies. To further the musical arts, I am singing in a choir.

I like hiking in the alps and traveling by train and bike.

Together with 4 friends I am on the board of the Cevi Olten-Foundation. The purpose of the foundation is to run the Flörli, a largish house in the heart of Olten, to provide office space and meeting rooms at low rates for non-profit organizations.

If only every day had 100 hours ...

If you are looking for more formal information about me, my Curriculum Vitae might be helpful.

Privacy Policy

I use Google AdSense to serve ads when you visit my website. These companies may use information (not including your name, address, email address, or telephone number) about your visits to this and other websites in order to provide advertisements about goods and services of interest to you. If you would like more information about this practice and to know your choices about not having this information used by these companies, click here.


NOTE: The content of this website is accessible with any browser. The graphical design though relies completely on CSS2 styles. If you see this text, this means that your browser does not support CSS2. Consider upgrading to a standard conformant browser like Mozilla Firefox, Opera, Safari or Konqueror for example.